The Power of No

inspirational-quote-saying-no-claudia-black

I have this problem with saying no… I don’t know how to do it. I hate doing it when I have to and I feel incredibly guilty when I actually say it to someone.

 

See…I am one of those people who go above and beyond for the people around me. I will voluntarily go out of my way to make you happy or more comfortable and I will more than likely do things for the people around me even if it is a major pain in my ass and inconvenience.

 

I guess this stems from the fact that I feel that if I do all these things for people, that they will accept me and like me or some such ridiculous notion. What actually happens, however, is that people walk all over you and then misuse you.

Boy have I been misused… 

So now I am practicing saying no and not doing everything for everyone. It is so in my nature to care for others and to make their lives easier that I neglect my life. I can actually not remember the last time that someone went out of their way for me without me even asking. See, people don’t. They are so involved in their own lives that they don’t see yours. And it is not that people don’t care, its just that most people are very much just all about them. There are very few people who are like me and who are cursed with this stupid need to make everyone around them happy.

387174_183023191852518_828679046_n

 

I think its time this ends. I have especially felt this over the past few weeks. And I don’t want to do this anymore. I just keep saying yes and putting myself in situations where I almost always experience a loss, be it financial, time or emotional or even a combination of all!

So…if you are reading this and you feel this may be directed at you: Take note! Whether or not you are the one taking advantage of others or the one who is constantly being taken advantage of.

Just say no…….

Leave a Reply

