Purim/Lent: What’s your Sacrifice?

Sacrifice

Purim/Lent: What are you giving up?

Purim: Wednesday, March 20 Depositphotos_61091355_original-750x430

Lent: Wednesday, March 6-Saturday, April 20 8657956555_f41468a8cf_b-533x400

Men. I have decided that this is what needs to happen.

Being a good Jewish/Catholic women, solemn penitence and mask and party, that’s what these 2 holidays are but its more than that. It’s giving up on what you desire the most then after you search your soul then rejoice and have a party because you found the right way to walk the rest of your life. I just can’t do this anymore. I have men around every corner that promise me beautiful things, tell me they can give me the world and then all there is hot air.

I honestly don’t have time for the admin of having a man in my life right now. That sounds horribly selfish and bitchy but I just don’t know where I would fit one in.

Between my need to get in shape so more yoga, writing, yes I’ve gotten bite the bug again, working, keeping house and trying to figure out this whole being an adult thing, I am pretty busy. Plus, my friends are much more important to me now.

I have recently rediscovered and found some amazing people that I want to cozy with and get to know and spend time with. They love me for me, even if this me is a little crazy and prone to random dance off’s in the middle of packed clubs. Hey, its how I roll!

And besides, I think I deserve the right to be selfish for a bit. I have always been the one to be there for everyone else, be who that person wants me to be so that they can get over whatever issue they have at that moment in time.

Well, I am so sorry, but that ship ain’t gonna fly anymore! I declare that for the next 40 days I want to be man free. I work with men, day in and day out and I have some great men friends. But I don’t want any romance, any…intentions or anything that will make you think that you are going to distract me from me.

Speaking of distractions, I need to get my relationship with G@d back on track and if the men out there that are so keen to “get” with me, don’t understand that, well then you are not even worth the time.

So for the next 40 days, if you are a guy and if you are reading this and if you may have any intentions to pursue me: Please don’t. You can be my friend, but don’t think that by me being nice, its an open invitation for you to get right in there…cause it is not going to happen.

I have lost too much in the past few months, Hell years, if I’m going, to be honest here.  I can’t afford to lose more of myself in someone who is just going to get me lost even more.

Leave a comment